About Us | Te Whatu Ora - Te Tai Tokerau

About Us

Who are we and what we do

Northland DHB is categorised as a Crown Agent under section 7 of the Crown Entities Act 2004. Responsible for providing or funding health and disability services for the people of Northland, the DHB covers a large geographical area from Te Hana in the south to Cape Reinga in the north.

Please note that on 1 July 2022, the Northland DHB and the other district health boards were disestablished. Te Whatu Ora (Health New Zealand) assumed their former functions and operations, including hospitals and health services. The Northland DHB was brought under Te Whatu Ora's Northern division.

In Te Tai Tokerau, Te Whatu Ora employs 3,889 staff. Acute services are provided through the region's four hospitals, based at Whangārei, Dargaville, Kawakawa and Kaitaia, with elective surgery performed at Whangārei and Kaitaia. These services are supplemented by a network of community-based, outpatient and mental health services, a range of allied health services, and a public and population health unit. Some specialist services, like radiation treatment and neurology services, are provided from Auckland or through visiting specialists travelling to Northland.

Te Whatu Ora allocates funding across the health sector in Northland, contracting with a range of community-based service providers such as Mahitahi Hauora, our single Primary Health Entity, dentists, pharmacies and other non-government organisations.

Last modified: