Professional Development Recognition Programme (PDRP) | Northland DHB

Professional Development Recognition Programme (PDRP)

The Professional Development and Recognition Programme (PDRP) framework and criteria have been developed to achieve the following purposes: 

  • To advance professional development in nursing.
  • To support nurses in demonstrating competency to Nursing Council  of New Zealand.
  • To fullfil obligations negotiated under the NZNO Nurses' MECA.

This programme aims to promote and reward nursing expertise and recognise the contribution of nurses to quality patient health outcomes. The PDRP assessment criteria have been developed to align with the national framework and integrate national evidential requirements along five different levels.


The Regional PDRP is a voluntary process and nurses choosing to participate, who are successful, have the benefit of being able to renew their Annual Practising Certificates without being subject to random audit by the Nursing Council of New Zealand.

Nurses covered by the NZNO Nurses' MECA can also achieve financial rewards. These rewards apply to level 3 & 4.

Senior Nurses placement on and progression through the salary scale is not dependent on PDRP, however Senior Nurses successful at the Competent level will have the benefit of becoming exempt from audit by Nursing Council of New Zealand.

PDRP Policy


This website contains all documents and information  for nurses applying for PDRP through NDHB


Contact PDRP coordinator for more information PDRP&

Appeals Process:

Provides a guideline and form for the appeal process. Click here

Last modified: